Regardless of the eventual disapointing outcome, Tuesday's game was some of the most exciting overtime hockey I've seen. Part of this excitement, was Andrew Shaw's no-goal in 2OT, which had a lot of people confused as to if headbutting the puck into a net counts as a valid goal or not.
We all know now that it doesn't...
Disallowed Goals – Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee and the appropriate announcement made by the Public Address Announcer for the following reasons:
(i) When the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick.
... But it was a beautiful play none-the-less. Here's another look:
Anyway, because I'm short on time and still depressed about the loss, here's some other great moments in headbutt media (this list is not all-inclusive)...
You can share your favorite headbutts in the comments.
Thursday, May 21, 2015, 5:00 PM PDT